Here’s What Will Happen If You Don’t Stop For A School Bus In New Hampshire
Editor's note: This article was written by a Townsquare Media Northern New England radio personality and may contain the individual's views, opinions or personal experiences.
We here in NH are just hours away from seeing the reemergence of yellow school buses on our roadways.
Please be cautious. Because if you don't stop when alerted, even if you're lucky, the penalties are severe.
Hefty Fines And Possible Loss Of Driving Privileges
State law forbids any vehicle to be closer than 25 feet away from a school bus when the red lights are flashing. That stop sign? It's not a suggestion.
According to Chapter 265, Section 54 of New Hampshire's Rules Of The Road, a first offense fine will be at least $150 (or more dependent on assessment of violation).
Let's say you don't learn your lesson the first time?
The fine for a second offense STARTS at $250 and could conceivably be as high as $1,000.
Additionally, any driver committing this as a second offense could lose their license for thirty days.
Don't Even Think About Passing On The Right
This is an extremely dangerous offense and will result in a $500 fine for a first offense along with a possible loss of license for thirty days.
Second offenses of this nature can be fined up to $1,200 and you could lose your license for up to three months.
Please Be Patient
I realize that if you're late for work or just want to get home after a long day, staring at the back end of a Blue Bird Bus as it crawls two or three houses and stops. Again and again. Can be painful.
But did you know if there are five cars lined up behind the bus, the driver must pull over and let those vehicles pass when they have room?
Statistically speaking, children of the Granite State are ELEVEN times safer riding the school bus to and from school than being driven in private passenger cars.
The more people that follow these simple laws, the safer we all will be!